News: The Timeless Beauty is a forum for women over 40.
Chat with us about makeup, skin care, or whatever is on your mind.
Free and open membership. Never any ads. Privacy always respected.
Interested? Read here and/or here. Or just register!

Author Topic: Does anyone else NOT wear nail polish?  (Read 2890 times)

cara4art

• Ageless Beauty
Does anyone else NOT wear nail polish?
« on: April 07, 2014, 10:15:17 AM »
Just wondering, as it seems that virtually everyone is doing nail polish these days. Does anyone, other than milla who posted recently about just moisturizing her nails, just keep things really simple and go with the natural beauty of their nails, if well-kept(trimmed, moisturized)? Also, more and more space at the drugstore is being devoted to nail polishes. Granted, there are all kinds of pretty colors which I appreciate since I'm a painter, but it's a totally different matter to have this toxic, fume-filled stuff stuck to one's nails. But I'm highly-sensitive to scents in general - every time I go by our neighborhood nail salon, I can smell the stuff from OUTSIDE, so I can't imagine what it's like for the poor young women who are working in these kinds of places.  If one gets into this habit at home, where in the world is one putting all of this extra stuff? I've seen posts on MUA by people who say they have hundreds of nail polishes. My manicures and pedicures(if you can call them that) are strictly DIY, ultra-simple, as in just cutting and filing my nails - done!:) Well, OK, for feet, I do have to soak them first. My cuticles have always been smooth and even - no care required in that respect. I know not everyone is into this mode, but was just wondering if anyone else here was.:) My husband keeps suggesting that I should treat myself to a professional pedicure, but I told him I'd save that for when I'm too old and feeble to cut my own nails. Hopefully that's a very very long time off yet!

milla

• Ageless Beauty